Council bestows prestigious honour for first time in its history

Trafford Council has for the first time in its history agreed to bestow a prestigious honour on two former councillors – by making them Honorary Aldermen of the Borough.

Former Mayors Pamela Dixon MBE and Viv Ward were officially awarded the title of Honorary Alderman at an Extraordinary Meeting of the Council on Wednesday evening.

Both Mrs Dixon and Mrs Ward were nominated by Councillor Sean Anstee to mark their significant contributions to the council and to Trafford in their roles as public servants. Members of the Council unanimously backed the nomination.

Mrs Dixon MBE was elected as a member of Trafford Council in 1990 and went on to become Mayor of Trafford from 2004 to 2005. She has previously served as Chairman of Governors at Heyes Lane Primary School, Timperley and remains on the governing body today. While she was Mayor, Mrs Dixon attended in excess of 300 functions and raised more than £50,000 for the Mayor’s Charity Fund.

Mrs Ward was elected on the 7th May 1992, and, representing Flixton Ward, made a significant contribution to the borough through her extensive involvement with Planning Committee, for the past ten years as chairman. Also a former Mayor of Trafford, Mrs. Ward’s contribution to the borough is significant and worthy of acclaim.

The Mayor of Trafford, Councillor Tom Ross, said:

Mrs Dixon and Mrs Ward each gave more than 20 years’ service to Trafford Council. They both served as councillors and Mayors and are well respected by everyone who knows them for all their hard work and effort. 

We would like to say thank you very much for all your hard work over the years.

Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 provides that the title of Honorary Alderman may be conferred by the Council on persons who have, in its opinion, rendered eminent service to the Council as past Members of the Council, but who are no longer Councillors.

Honorary Aldermen are invited to attend Council meetings in a nonparticipating capacity. They do not to receive any allowances or payments under section 173 to 176 of the Local Government Act 1972. They are also invited to attend and take part in civic ceremonies such as Civic Sundays and Remembrance Sundays and other appropriate civic events.

Posted on Friday 30th November 2018