Mayor of Trafford

Councillor Chris Boyes

 Mayor and Mayoress of Trafford

Councillor Chris Boyes has represented Brooklands Ward since 2012. In his time as a member of Trafford Council, he has served on the Accounts and Audit, Employment, Scrutiny and Standards Committees. He also represents Trafford on the GMCA Accounts and Audit Committee and on two Manchester Airport Committees. 

Chris retired from full time employment in 2012 after a Sales and Management career mainly in Financial Services. He attends Ashton-on-Mersey United Reformed Church and volunteers as a Christian Aid Group Organiser.

Chris is a Founder member and Treasurer of The Friends of Moor Nook Park. He is currently President of Sale Photographic Society and is former President of Sale Golf Club and also a longstanding Vice President of both Sale Rugby Football Club and of the North West Counties Squash League. He is a Rotary Past District Governor and a Past President of both Sale and Altrincham Rotary Clubs.

Chris was born in Croydon and was educated at Dulwich College, coming to Manchester in 1967 to study Maths and Management Sciences at UMIST. Chris has lived in Brooklands for the last 47 years, is married to Pam, and they have two grown up children.

Chris is a Governor at both Sale High School and Brooklands Primary School. Having been Trafford’s Appointed Governor at Wythenshawe Hospital he now holds a similar position at the Manchester University NHS Foundation Trust.

He enjoys being in the company of others, photography, gardening, music, travel, motor sport and has a model railway - work in progress - project.

Requesting the Mayor's attendance

Both the Mayor and Mayoress look forward to their year in office and representing and serving residents, organisations and groups in the Borough.

If you would like the Mayor and Mayoress to attend an event, you can either request Mayoral attendance or write to us:

Mayor's Office
Trafford Town Hall
Talbot Road
M32 0TH

Invitations will not be considered without a minimum of 14 clear days notice.

Mayor's Charity

If you would like to make a contribution to the Mayor's charity supporting Parkinson’s UK, Royal Manchester Children’s Hospital and Children’s Air Ambulance, please send a cheque made payable to "Mayor of Trafford's Charity Fund" and send it to:

Mayor's Office
Trafford Town Hall
Talbot Road
M32 0TH

Deputy Mayor

The Deputy Mayor is Councillor Dolores O’Sullivan and the Deputy Consort is Mrs Joan Smith.

Learn more about The Mayor of Trafford

Mayoral insignia

For official engagements, chain of office of the Mayor and Mayoress are worn. Find out about the history of the Chains.

Past mayors

From 1974 onwards, find out who has been Mayor of Trafford.

Trafford Coat of Arms

Read about the history of the Trafford coat of arms and discover the meaning behind its design.