Our constitution

The Constitution provides the framework within which the Council conducts its business and makes decisions. It describes who is responsible for making decisions and how those decisions are taken. 

The constitution sets out:

  • The rules and procedures to be followed by the Council and its committees when conducting their business
  • The decision making powers of the executive and Council committees
  • The financial and contract regulations
  • The scheme of delegation to officers
  • The rights of the public to inspect reports and background documents
  • Codes of conduct for councillors and employees
  • Members' allowances.

The Constitution is divided into 6 parts. For more details, please select a link below.

Part 1 - Summary and Explanation

This sets out the contents of our constitution and explains the rights of citizens.

Part 2 - Articles of the Constitution

These provide information on how the key parts of the Council operate.

Part 3 - Responsibility for Functions

This part lists responsibilities for carrying out the Council's functions.

Part 4 - Procedure Rules

These provide detailed information as to the limits and responsibilities of the Council and its committees.

Part 5 - Codes and Protocols

This part sets out the various codes and protocols councillors and Council employees have to follow.

Part 6 - Constitution - Members' Allowances

This sets out the financial allowances different councillors receive.