Notifiable infectious diseases

Infectious disease investigations

The UK Health Security Agency (UKHSA) are responsible for protecting every member of every community from the impact of infectious diseases.

They will, together with our Environmental Health Officers, carry out an investigation to try and establish the source of the infection and to prevent further spread within the community.

Diseases that are notifiable

The Diseases that notifiable under the Health Protection (Notification) Regulations 2010 are:

  • Acute encephalitis
  • Acute meningitis
  • Acute poliomyelitis
  • Acute infectious hepatitis
  • Anthrax
  • Botulism
  • Brucellosis
  • Cholera
  • Diphtheria
  • Enteric fever (typhoid or paratyphoid fever)
  • Food poisoning
  • Haemolytic uraemic syndrome (HUS)
  • Infectious bloody diarrhoea
  • Invasive group A streptococcal disease and scarlet fever
  • Legionnaires' Disease
  • Leprosy
  • Malaria
  • Measles
  • Meningococcal septicaemia
  • Mumps
  • Plague
  • Rabies
  • Rubella
  • SARS
  • Smallpox
  • Tetanus
  • Tuberculosis
  • Typhus
  • Viral haemorrhagic fever (VHF)
  • Whooping cough
  • Yellow fever

Further information

Further information on the notification of infectious diseases are available on GOV.UK.