Readers' groups

We are now re-starting our meetings in-person. If you would like to join one of the meetings or would like more information please email librarynews@trafford.gov.uk

Altrincham Library

Morning group

First Tuesday of the month 10:00am

  • Tuesday 7 June 10:00am - choose a book in the Discworld fantasy series by Terry Pratchett
  • Tuesday 5 July 10:00am - The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead
  • Tuesday 6 September 10:00am - Girl, Woman Other by Bernardine Evaristo
  • Tuesday 4 October 10:00am - Shuggie Bain by Douglas Stuart
  • Tuesday 1 November 10:00am - A Town called Solace by Mary Lawson
  • Tuesday 6 December 10:00am - Old Filth by Jane Gardam

Evening group

Wednesday, once a month 7:00pm

  • Wednesday 13 July - Shuggie Bain by Douglas Stuart and The poetry of Carol Ann Duffy
  • Wednesday 10 August - The Midnight Library by Matt Haig
  • Wednesday 7 September - Unreliable Memoirs by Clive James
  • Wednesday 5 October - The Rotters' Club by Jonathan Coe
  • Wednesday 2 November - The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead
  • Wednesday 14 December - Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

Coppice Library

All Coppice Library Readers' groups now held at the library.

Monday group

First Monday of the month at 2:00pm

  • Monday 6 June - After the Party by Cressida Connolly

Tuesday reading group

Last Tuesday of the month at 2:00pm

  • Tuesday 31 May - The Crow Road by Ian Banks
  • Tuesday 28 June - The Accidental Apprentice by Vikas Swarup
  • Tuesday 26 July - Three Things About Elsie by Joanna Cannon
  • Tuesday 30 August - The Birdwatcher by William Shaw
  • Tuesday 27 September - Ten Days by Gillian Slovo 
  • Tuesday 25 October - Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens
  • Tuesday 29 November - The Stars are Fire by Anita Shreve
  • Tuesday 20 December - Digging to America by Anne Tyler

Wednesday reading group

Second Wednesday of the month 2:00pm

  • Wednesday 8 June  – Blonde Roots by Bernadine Evaristo
  • Wednesday 13 July  – Love After Love by Ingrid Persaud

Old Trafford Library

Morning group

Last Thursday of each month 10:30am-12:00pm at Limelight

  • Thursday 26 May – The Salt Path by Raynor Winn
  • Thursday 30 June – The Lido by Libby Page
  • Thursday 28 July – My Sister the Serial Killer by Oyinkan Braithwaite
  • Thursday 25 August – Short History of Tractors in Ukrainian by Marina Lewycka
  • Thursday 29 September – People like Her by Ellery Lloyd
  • Thursday 27 October – Birds without Wings by De Bernieres
  • Thursday 24 November – The Underground Railway by Colston Whitehead
  • Thursday 26 January – Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens

Partington Library

Afternoon group

New reading group starting Monday 25 April at 2:00pm and on the last Monday of each month thereafter

  • Monday 30 May  – TBC

Sale Library

Evening Group

Second Monday of the month 6:00pm

  • Monday 13 June – Unsettled Ground by Clare Fuller
  • July - group not meeting this month
  • Monday 8 August – No One Is Talking About This by Patricia Lockwood
  • Monday 12 September – Silver Sparrow by Tayari Jones
  • Monday 10 October – Stoner by John Williams
  • Monday 14 November – 10 Minutes 38 Seconds in This Strange World by Elif Shafak
  • Monday 12 December – Grown Ups by Marian Keyes 

Stretford Library

Morning group

Last Saturday of the month 11:00am

  • Saturday 28 May – Male Tears by Benjamin Myers
  • Saturday 2 July – Mrs Hemingway by Naomi Wood (change of week for one month only)
  • Saturday 30 July – People like Her by Ellery Lloyd
  • Saturday 27 August – Assembly by Natasha Brown
  • Saturday 24 September – A Town Called Solace by Mary Lawson
  • Saturday 29 October – Unsettled Ground by Clare Fuller
  • Saturday 26 November – Unreliable Memoirs by Clive James

Urmston Library

Afternoon group

Fourth Thursday of the month 2:00pm

  • Thursday 26 May - The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra – Vaseem Khan
  • Thursday 30 June - The Lacuna - Barbara Kingsolver
  • Thursday 28 July - The Hare With the Amber Eyes - Edmund de Waal
  • Thursday 25 August - Birds Without Wings - Louis de Bernieres
  • Thursday 29 September - Two Caravans - Marina Lewycka
  • Thursday 27 October - The Accidental Apprentice - Vikas Swarup
  • Thursday 24 November - Restoration - Rose Tremain

Afternoon Crime Time

Last Friday of the month 2:00pm

  • Friday 27 May – People Like Her by Ellery LLoyd
  • Friday 24 June – Exit Music by Ian Rankin
  • Friday 29 July – Let Me Lie by Clare Mackintosh

Evening Page Turners

Third Tuesday of the month 6:00pm

  • Tuesday 17 May – Love After Love by Ingrid Persaud
  • Tuesday 21 June – Small Pleasures by Clare Chambers

LGBT+ Reader’s Group

Last Tuesday of the month 5:30pm - 6:30pm for more details email Urmston.library@trafford.gov.uk

  • Tuesday 31 May 2022 – TBC

Woodsend Library

Afternoon group

Third Monday of the month 2:00pm

  • Monday 16 May – Girl, Woman, Other by Bernadine Evaristo
  • Monday 20 June – Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro
  • Monday 18 July – The Secret Scripture by Sebastian Barry
  • Monday 15 August – After the Party by Cressida Connolly
  • Monday 19 September – 10 Minutes 38 Seconds in this strange world by Elif Shafak
  • Monday 17 October – Small Pleasures by Clare Chambers

Zoom - Trafford Online Reader’s Group

The group meets online via Zoom. To request a link to the sessions please email sale.library@trafford.gov.uk

Morning group

First Wednesday of the month 11:00am

  • Wednesday 1 June - Grown Ups by Marian Keyes (via Zoom)
  • Wednesday 13 July - We Were the Mulvaneys by Joyce Carol Oates (via Zoom)
  • Wednesday 10 August - Small Pleasures by Clare Chambers (via Zoom)
  • Wednesday 7 September - The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead (via Zoom)
  • Wednesday 19 October - Love After Love by Ingrid Persaud (via Zoom)
  • Wednesday 16 November - Snow by John Banville (via Zoom)
  • Wednesday 14 December - No one is talking about this by Patricia Lockwood (via Zoom)