Readers' groups

We're now restarting our meetings in person. If you'd like to join one of the meetings, or would like more information, email librarynews@trafford.gov.uk.

Altrincham Library

Morning group

First Tuesday of the month at 10:00am

  • Tuesday 4 October – Shuggie Bain by Douglas Stuart
  • Tuesday 1 November – A Town called Solace by Mary Lawson
  • Tuesday 6 December – Old Filth by Jane Gardam

Evening group

One Tuesday a month at 7:30pm

  • Tuesday 4 October – The Rotters' Club by Jonathan Coe
  • Tuesday 1 November – The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead
  • Tuesday 13 December – Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

Coppice Library

All Coppice Library readers' groups are now held at the library.

Monday group

First Monday of the month at 11:00am

  • Monday 3 October – This Lovely City by Louise Hare
  • Monday 7 November – When All is Said and Done by Anne Griffin
  • Monday 5 December – Rotters' Club by Jonathan Coe
  • 2nd Monday 9 January 2023 – Shuggy Bain by Douglas Stuart
  • Monday 6 February 2023 – Stoner by John Williams

Tuesday group

Last Tuesday of the month at 2:00pm

  • Tuesday 25 October – Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens
  • Tuesday 29 November – The Stars are Fire by Anita Shreve
  • 3rd Tuesday 20 December – Digging to America by Anne Tyler

Wednesday group

Second Wednesday of the month at 2:00pm

  • Events TBC

Old Trafford Library

Morning group

Last Thursday of the month 10:30am – 12:00pm at Limelight

  • Thursday 27 October – Birds Without Wings by De Bernieres
  • Thursday 24 November – The Underground Railway by Colston Whitehead
  • Thursday 26 January – Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens

Online readers' group – via Zoom

The group meets online via Zoom. To request a link to the sessions email sale.library@trafford.gov.uk

Afternoon group

First Friday of the month at 12:00pm

  • 2nd Friday 14 October – The Sense of an Ending by Julian Barnes (via Zoom)
  • Friday 4 November – Snow by John Banville (via Zoom)
  • Friday 2 December – No One Is Talking About This by Patricia Lockwood (via Zoom)

Partington Library

Afternoon group

Last Monday of the month at 2:00pm

  • Events TBC

Sale Library

Evening group

Second Monday of the month at 6:00pm

  • Monday 10 October – Stoner by John Williams
  • Monday 14 November – 10 Minutes 38 Seconds in This Strange World by Elif Shafak
  • Monday 12 December – Grown Ups by Marian Keyes

Stretford Library

Morning group

Last Saturday of the month at 11:00am

  • Saturday 29 October – Unsettled Ground by Clare Fuller
  • Saturday 26 November – Unreliable Memoirs by Clive James

Timperley Library

First Monday of the month at 2:00pm

  • Monday 3 October – The Midnight Library by Matt Haig
  • Monday 7 November – After the Party by Cressida Connolly
  • Monday 5 December – This Lovely City by Louise Hare

Urmston Library

Afternoon group

Fourth Thursday of the month at 2:00pm

  • Thursday 27 October – The Accidental Apprentice – Vikas Swarup
  • Thursday 24 November – Restoration – Rose Tremain

Afternoon Crime Time

Last Friday of the month at 2:00pm

  • Events TBC

Evening Page Turners

Third Tuesday of the month at 6:00pm

  • Tuesday 18 October – No One is Talking About This by Patricia Lockwood
  • 4th Tuesday 22 November – Assembly by Natasha Brown
  • Tuesday 20 December – Stoner by John Williams
  • Tuesday 17 January 23 – TBC
  • Tuesday 21 February 23 – A Town Called Solace by Mary Lawson

LGBT+ readers' group

Last Tuesday of the month 5:30pm – 6:30pm for more details email Urmston.library@trafford.gov.uk

  • Events TBC

Woodsend Library

Afternoon group

Third Monday of the month at 2:00pm

  • Monday 17 October – Small Pleasures by Clare Chambers