Weed control

We are responsible for weed control on public land.

Weed spraying - what we do

Weeds are sprayed in the summer months on the public highway, which includes roads, pavements, kerbs, and grids (gullies). Once an area has been sprayed, it takes roughly two to three weeks for weeds to die off. 

Weeds are sprayed with a low toxicity herbicide (Glyphosate). However, weeds may return between treatments.

As part of our commitment to reduce the use of glyphosate, we only do this once a year. Our teams start early in the morning so you may not always see them, and our programme is dependent upon the weather, as we don't spray when it's windy or wet. 

What we don't do

We do not maintain land that is privately owned, or the responsibility of Registered Social Landlords. If you are worried about invasive plants such as Japanese Knotweed on your or your neighbour’s land, visit invasive plants on private land

Since introducing a reduction in the use of glyphosate, we have now stopped weed spraying in all public parks, green spaces, and cemeteries. This means these may now look a little different, as we look to introduce more wildflower and long grass regimes to encourage bees and other wildlife.

Opting out of weed spraying - tree pits

If you or your community want to adopt the tree pits in your area, to plant them with flowering plant, you can request that they not be sprayed. Tree pits are where trees are planted on pavements. To opt out please email us at onetraffordgreenspace@amey.co.uk and let us know the exact area.